Hierarchies of Personal Development and Human Needs

Hierarchy of Personal Development
Maslow's Adapted Hierarchy of Needs
1. Survival

Fear / Unconscious

Separative view

1. Biological and Physiological needs - air, food, drink, shelter, warmth, sex, sleep, etc.
2. Relationship   2. Safety needs - protection from elements, security, order, law, limits, stability, etc.
3. Self-esteem
Less fear
3. Belongingness and Love needs - work group, family, affection, relationships, etc.
4. Transformation
You OR me
crossing over to
You AND me
4. Esteem needs - self-esteem, achievement, mastery, independence, status, dominance, prestige, managerial responsibility, etc.
5. Meaning - Greater Good
More Love-Truth
5. Cognitive needs - knowledge, meaning, etc.
6 Making a Difference - Fulfillment   6. Aesthetic needs - appreciation and search for beauty, balance, form, etc.
7. Service - Oneness

Love-Truth / Highly Conscious

Unitive view

7. Self-Actualisation needs - realising personal potential, self-fulfillment, seeking personal growth and peak experiences.

E-mail - MB@theagelesswisdom.com





Website Design Animation and Hosting by Illuminary Arts

This page was updated on Friday, August 29, 2003 3:18 PM